First time flying!

Yesterday I flew for the first time on a “Discovery” flight, and the instructor let me had the controls for most of the flight! I wasn’t expecting to taxi the Cessna 172 (see picture) prior to takeoff, but I did, and I didn’t do as badly as I thought.

Takeoff was smooth and kind of surreal: one moment I’m trying to keep the nose straight, and the next moment we are no longer on the ground. It’s an amazing feeling! It was windy the whole flight, so I spent more time looking at the instruments trying to maintain altitude and airspeed than looking outside, although we flew above my neighborhood. I still have to become more comfortable making steep banks, but it wasn’t bad for a first-timer!

I think I could get used to flying.

Photo credit: Above and Beyond Aviation

Photo credit: Above and Beyond Aviation

Leave a comment